AGRICULTURE meets MANUFACTURING

Agriculture meets manufacturing: In the western part of the town of Fellbach, two urban production locations are situated directly adjacent to each other. Fellbach municipal authorities want to take advantage of the opportunity provided by the IBA’27 to reconfigure this area using innovative and consultation-based planning processes.

The project site in Fellbach covers 110 hectares in total and is located between Stuttgart and Fellbach town centre. On one site of Stuttgarter Straße, the main route for traffic, there are intensively used agricultural spaces with nurseries as well as fruit and vegetable growers. On the other side of the road is the town’s largest industrial zone. Space is at a premium, conflicts of use are on the increase and the businesses on both sides face similar challenges posed by globalisation, climate change and digitalisation.

The local authorities intend to use a broad-based consultation process to develop an overarching vision for the site. Business owners, farmers and private landowners will participate in the project and contribute their ideas. Among other things, the planning phase involves exploring possibilities for mixed use and densification of the industrial zone, the quality of the urban spaces and options for enhancing urban agriculture. Several construction projects are to be completed in time for the IBA presentation year of 2027 that will turn the ideas developed during this planning process into tangible real-life examples.

Contact

Stadt Fellbach
Ulrich Dilger
Abteilungsleiter
Stadtplanungsamt, Abteilung Stadtentwicklung
70734 Fellbach
Germany
+49 7115851449
iba27@fellbach.de

share

Logo IBA27

AGRICULTURE meets MANUFACTURING

Landwirtschaft trifft Industrie: Im Westen der Stadt Fellbach liegen zwei Standorte urbaner Produktion in direkter Nachbarschaft. Unter dem Titel »AGRICULTURE meets MANUFACTURING« möchte die Stadt Fellbach dieses Gebiet mit der IBA’27 neu ordnen und setzt dabei auf neuartige und dialogorientierte Planungsprozesse.

Das Projektgebiet in Fellbach umfasst insgesamt 110 Hektar und liegt zwischen Stuttgart und der Fellbacher Innenstadt. Auf der einen Seite der Stuttgarter Straße als Hauptverkehrsachse liegen intensiv genutzte Landwirtschaftsflächen mit Gärtnereien, Obst- und Gemüseanbau, auf der anderen befindet sich das größte Gewerbegebiet der Stadt. Die Flächen sind knapp, Nutzungskonflikte nehmen zu und die Unternehmen auf beiden Seiten stehen angesichts von Globalisierung, Klimawandel und Digitalisierung vor ähnlichen Herausforderungen.

In einem breiten Dialog will die Stadtverwaltung zunächst eine übergreifende Vision für das Gebiet entwickeln. Gewerbetreibende, Landwirte und die privaten Grundstücksbesitzer werden bei dem Projekt mitarbeiten und ihre Ideen einbringen. Bei den Planungen geht es unter anderem um Möglichkeiten einer Durchmischung und Nachverdichtung des Gewerbegebiets, um die Qualität der städtischen Räume und Optionen zur Stärkung der urbanen Landwirtschaft. Bis zum Jahr 2027 sollen mehrere Bauvorhaben realisiert werden, die die in diesem Planungsprozess entwickelten Ideen für das Präsentationsjahr der IBA exemplarisch erlebbar machen.

Kontakt

Stadt Fellbach
Ulrich Dilger
Abteilungsleiter
Stadtplanungsamt, Abteilung Stadtentwicklung
70734 Fellbach
+49 7115851449
iba27@fellbach.de

teilen

Logo IBA27